Rescue Mission: Toddler Sweater

Dear Fellow Knitter,

I’m sorry to be writing to you entirely out of the blue, but I thought you might want to know that your lovingly crafted sweater is being worn and appreciated.  I met your sweater  in the boys’ clothing section of the Little Fox Shop, a worthy cause/children’s resale shop that supports our local library.  I was in there looking for lined pants and turtlenecks for my one year old, when I saw your sweater hanging on the rack.  I let out a little gasp, remarking to the volunteer next to me “Oh my, that sweater is hand-knit!”  She said they had several hand-knit items that had come in recently, although I didn’t see any others — hopefully they also found loving homes.  Despite the fact that my son definitely has enough sweaters and other knitwear.  Mostly all hand-knit by his mother (me), his grandmothers, and friends of mine.  The child is not lacking in wool.  But I saw this sweater, and I knew it needed to go to a home where it would be loved, and so I bought it and brought it home with me.

It looks like a lovely wool/mohair blend (Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride?  Green Mountain Spinnery Mountain Mohair?) and I found the pattern on Ravelry with little effort, and although I think I know what yarn you used and what size it is (it must be a 2, since it’s not ridiculously big on Jesse) it doesn’t appear that you are on Ravelry, or you haven’t put the project on your project page (I even looked through the photo-less projects).  Oh well, this open letter will have to suffice.  Do know, fellow knitter, that your hard work and effort are being appreciated, and that my local library has benefited from your work as well.  I hope my son gets two winters out of your sweater, and when he is done, it will be carefully packed away for when he may have a little one of his own who needs to stay warm.

Fondly,

A fellow knitter

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rescue Mission: Toddler Sweater

  1. affiknity says:

    What a touching post. It must feel so good to give a hand-knit sweater a good and caring home. I hope the sweater maker reads this post.

    Like

  2. Hiro says:

    I love you for this post, Mira!

    Like

  3. Pingback: More Adventures in Steeking | Mira’s Knits

  4. Kenton says:

    What you posted made a great deal of sense. But, think about
    this, what if you were to write a killer headline?
    I ain’t suggesting your content is not solid, but what if you added a post title that makes people want more? I mean Rescue Mission: Toddler Sweater | Miras Knits is kinda boring. You might peek at Yahoo’s front page and note how they create article titles to grab people to
    click. You might add a video or a picture or two to grab readers interested
    about what you’ve written. In my opinion, it could make your posts a little livelier.

    Like

Leave a Reply

